If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late

By Robbie MacKinnon

Image result for if you're reading this it's too late
Image courtesy of Genius

For this article I’m going to do something I don’t do very often and show a side of me I don’t usually show. Many of you may not know, but I am actually an avid music fan, arguably even more than sports. Specifically, I’m an avid Drake fan. Now some may call it mainstream, but I could argue about his deep cut songs that aren’t on the radio all day. The truth is, everyone has at least 3 drake songs they love, and therefore you cannot deny his greatness. And today is a very special day for us Drake fans. 

Five years ago today, February 13th, Aubrey Graham dropped the incredible surprise mixtape, If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late. Drake practically broke the internet the night he dropped this classic out of the sky: a 17 song mixtape with nothing but greatness after greatness. Drake went on to break the record for first week sales with this mixtape, even though there was no press release. What’s unbelievable about this album specifically is the tracklist. One could argue that he had the greatest 8 song run of all time on this album starting at the intro, “Legend,” all the way to “Star67.” The rest of the album is filled with bangers, but it was missing something every Drake album had. A sad song, one that appeals to our emotional side. Just when we thought Drake had really gone a full album without simping to the max, on Valentine’s Day Eve of all days, he snuck one in a the buzzer. Track 16, “Jungle” is an all time great Drake ballad. It never fails to tug on my heart strings and beg the question if that certain female is really “Down for the cause.” 

As it turns out, many other music fans share my feelings toward this album. “This was the first Drake album I listened to on my own time, not just the mainstream songs,” said fellow Drake fan Marissa Ray. She then goes on to paint a very vivid picture for us when reminiscing about a If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late memory. “11:09 pm. Crisp Summer night. While I was out driving by myself to clear my mind, a song started to play. Not just any song. [It was] “No Tellin’” by Drake. Prior to this night I like[d] the song a good, healthy amount. Then, after 2 minutes and 55 seconds of the song blaring through my speakers, the part came on. Indescribable. Overall it just hit really different and now it will always be one of my favorites. Play it at my funeral.” I think it’s safe to say I’m not alone in my assessment of this album. Personally, I agree with Ray in that “No Tellin’” is pure greatness, and I still get goosebumps when I hear the beat switch in the 2nd half of the song. Happy 5 years If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late. I’ll always love you.

Leave a comment