The Best Ice Cream in Sylvania

By: Taylor Weldele, Staff Writer

Courtesy of Irvine Standard

I believe that out of the many places to get ice cream in Sylvania Handles Ice Cream is the best. I have lived in Sylvania my entire life and had ice cream from all of the major places like Timbos, Mayberry, Charlies, Kola Berry, and Handles, but every time I begin to crave ice cream, Handles is the first place that comes to my mind. Handles is famous for its hard-serve ice cream, Handle Pops, Hurricanes mixers, and a plethora of other cold treats. I spoke to Handles employee Anna Hauptman and she stated that she loves working in such a positive environment, with all of her amazing co-workers, as well as getting tipped very generously by most of the customers.

I have tried many flavors over the course of my childhood from Handles, like the classic chocolate, and vanilla, and some of their other sundae-like treats, such as their Fish Bate sundae which is a vanilla ice cream base with chocolate rock candies and gummy worms. But my favorite flavor will always be the classic mint chocolate chip. I personally like their mint chocolate chip ice cream in a waffle cone, nothing will ever top the feeling of getting handed that perfect scoop of mint chocolate chip in the crunchy waffle cone. Employee Anna Hauptman’s favorite item to serve is a Hot Fudge Brownie Sundae because she enjoys getting to put the brownie in the microwave, however, she does not particularly enjoy making banana splits for the reason that there is simply just too much going on and it is an over the top order. I believe that if you ever need a frozen treat in Sylvania you should visit Handles ice cream.

Leave a comment